Making a Mess….Finding My Style!

Standard

IMG_5285

Sometimes learning what is NOT your style is just as important as learning what IS your style.  Here is what I have learned to be true this week:

IMG_5287

 

1.  Sketching out a rough draft ahead of time is NOT my style.  

 

2.  Small, painstaking detail work is NOT my style.

 

3.  Highly repetitive work is NOT my style.

 

4.  I like to work intuitively – that IS my style.

 

5.  I like it messy and unplanned – that IS my style.

 

6.  I need for art to happen quickly and come together in an explosion of color – that IS MOST DEFINITELY my style!!

 

What's your style?

 

6 responses »

  1. Hi Mary! Your style is definitely your own and it is beautiful! I agree that sometimes starting with what we don’t want to be, do or create can be a wonderful pathway for discovering what we can be, do or create. Love the photos you’ve included here, too.
    Keep dreaming barefoot!
    Lesa
    http://www.1wingheART.com

  2. You and I have the same style! Every time I try to plan my art, I end up hating it and painting over it. I spent all day yesterday doing just that! I’m also terrible at it when I have a deadline and “have to” get something done.

Leave a Reply

